Faculty of Science


After declaring the University of Zakho as an independent University according to the Prime Minister Resolution No. 1670, on July, 8th 2010, the Ministry of Higher Education issued the resolution No. 644 on July 12th, 2010, concerning the reorganization of the Colleges of Education and Commerce into the Faculties of Science and Humanities. The duration of the study in the Faculty of science is four academic years and the graduate will obtain B.Sc. Degree in Science. At the moment, the Faculty enrolls 1058 undergraduate students. The Faculty is also offering postgraduate programs (M.Sc. and Ph.D.) in various disciplines.

The faculty accepting PhD students according to its distinct split-site program and enrolling at the moment 30 PhD students and about 100 MSc students. The Faculty has highly efficient and well experienced teaching staff members providing the students with high quality courses using modern teaching and practical facilities to fulfill the market requirements with qualified graduates. As a part of capacity building program, the Faculty also organized several conferences, workshops and training courses for teaching staff members, technical staffs as well as, school teachers from various regions of Kurdistan.



Department of Biology

Department of Chemistry

Department of Computer Science

Department of Environmental Sciences

Department of Mathematics

Department of Physics

Contact Information

Faculty of Science

Zakho International Road, Duhok, Kurdistan Region-Iraq, P. O. Box 12

+964 xxx xxxxxxx


Sunday - Thursday 08:30a.m. - 03:00p.m.

Our Website